Tags

, , , , , ,

This super dee-lishous sliders will bring joy to everyone around the table.  This sliders were inspired by the Carolinas style BBQ.  I used a vinegar based BBQ sauce, and a nice  well rounded dry rub.  All these flavors came together really well by allowing the pork butts  marinate with the dry rub for up to 48 hrs, then cooking them at a low temperature for up to 12 hours.  The cole slaw gives the sandwich a nice sweet and crunchy texture to it!.  This is by far one of my favorite recipes, it can be made for just about any occasion.  Give it a try,  I am sure your family and friends won’t be disappointed.

  1. 1 6-8 lbs pork butt(boned in).
  2. 1 bottle of BBQ sauce ( I used  Sweet Baby Ray’s Hickory-n- Brown sugar).
  3. 1/2 cup of dry rub ( you can use any dry rub, your choice) I used my home made rub, sorry I can ‘t tell you… Is a secret!.
  4. 1 Cup of Cider Vinegar(divided).
  5. One bag of dinner rolls or hamburger rolls.

Cole Slaw

  1. 1 small head cabbage, shredded.
  2. 1/2 small head of red cabbage, shredded.
  3. 3 medium carrots, shredded.
  4. 1 cup mayonnaise.
  5. 1/3 cup sugar.
  6. 1/4 cup cider vinegar.
  7. 1/2 Tsp of dijon mustard.

Combine all ingredients in a crystal bowl and then add the cabbage carrots and mix well then set in the fridge for about one hour (you can do this step over night).

I pre-heated the oven to  a 270 degrees.  To maximized the flavor of the pork I let the pork marinate for at least 48 hours. before placing pork in the oven allow it to come to room temperature, then place it  the on a baking rack  and bake uncover for 8-9 hours.

Since I wanted to make this pork butt more of a Carolina’s style BBQ,  I made some adjustments to the sauce by adding 1/2 cup of cider vinegar and then heated for about 5 minutes.  Once the pork is  done remove from the oven and let sit for about 25 minutes before pulling the meat.   After the pork have cool off a bit, removed boned and use two fork to pull the meat apart, then pour the remaining 1/2  cup of vinegar and mix well.  Put the pulled meat back in the oven for another 10 minutes to let the flavors marry together.  I like to serve this family style  and let the guests make their own sliders and used the BBQ if the want to… Enjoy

